Bout of Books 12

bout of books

Happy New Year, Blog Readers!

You know what January means….another Bout of Books! This is Bout of Books 12, and it runs January 5th-January 11th. That’s next week! If you’ve never participated before, I hope you’ll consider joining. It’s absolutely fantastic–you get to read and connect with loads of other wonderful people who are also reading at the same time.

Here’s more info:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I’ll be posting more later about which books I plan to spend Bout of Books with.

Happy Reading!

Bout of Books Updates & Book Playlist Challenge (Updated)

DAY 1 CHALLENGE: A Playlist for A Book–Maybe One Day

We were asked to create a playlist for one of the books we’re reading for Bout of Books. I chose Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor, focusing on two best friends, and the way they navigate life as one of the girls struggles with cancer.

Here’s part of the GoodReads summary:

“In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.”

The girls’ passion for ballet, their history of attending class in NYC, and the strong theme of friendship in the book (so far) all inspired the following playlist:

Dance, Dance, Dance—The Beach Boys

New York, New York—Frank Sinatra & Tony Bennett

Yellow—Coldplay

The Nutcracker, Op. 71, Act II, Divertissement: Coffee (Arab Dance)—Andre Previn & London Symphony Orchestra, Tchaikovsky

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough—Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

I’ll Be There—Jackson 5

Bout of Books Updates

Monday:
Number of books I’ve read today: 1 (The Assassin’s Blade)
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: The Assassin’s Blade, The Eye of the World, Maybe One Day

Number of Pages Read: 228

Challenges: Playlist Challenge

blade

 

Tuesday:
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books: Maybe One Day, In the Shadows, Throne of Glass

Number of Pages Read: 249

Total Number of Pages I’ve read: 477

Challenges: Book Spine Poetry

shadows

 

Wednesday:
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: Maybe One Day, Throne of Glass, The Eye of the World, This Song Will Save Your Life

Number of Pages Read: 218

Total Number of Pages I’ve read: 695

maybe

 

 

Christmas in July Book Swap Reveal!

Some of you may recall that I was going to participate in the Christmas in July Book Swap, hosted by The Book Monsters. I’m happy to say I was paired with Kate, who actually blogs at The Book Monsters, and she sent me a book that I have wanted to read for many years.

It’s the first in a trilogy by Nancy Farmer, and I just have never gotten around to reading it.

trolls

I love The House of the Scorpion by Farmer (and have used it in teaching 8th grade English), and have read wonderful reviews about The Sea of Trolls. Kate also sent me two beautiful bookmarks, which I always need more of!christmas in july

This was a wonderful swap for the middle of the summer, and I look forward to reading and reviewing The Sea of Trolls trilogy in the near future!

 

It’s time for a Week of Reading: Bout of Books 11

BOUT OF BOOKS!!

bout of books august

It’s that time again, and I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for a week of reading…I’ve had a pretty busy summer and knowing that a week of reading with loads of other wonderful people is approaching makes me happy.

Here’s the info about the Bout of Books read-a-thon:

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.” – From the Bout of Books team

I will be posting my goals later and you can as well as I will share the link. If you’ve never experienced a Bout of Books before, you should!! Click on the link to sign up and find out more! Let’s end the summer well with reading and talking about reading!!

 

Summer Books n’ Bloggers Show-Off!

Today I’m FINALLY sharing the wonderful package I received in the mail from my Books n’ Bloggers swap partner, Beverly. She blogs over at Booklady’s Booknotes so definitely pay her a visit. It was fantastic to discover Beverly’s blog and get to know her a little more. Her reviews of mysteries reminded me of how much I once read mysteries myself–and though I still love this genre, I don’t think I read nearly as many as I once did. Perhaps it’s time to revisit some of my favorites.

The three books she chose for me were perfect!

book swap photo

One that she has read and loves: Finn Finnegan by Darby Karchut

One that she’s interested in: The Lost by Sarah Durst

One from my wishlist: The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer

Some of you may remember that The Secret Hum of a Daisy was on my top ten anticipated reads for 2014, so I’m very excited to have a copy!

She also sent me a mug she decorated herself, as well as some lovely tea and chocolate.

This is my second Books n’ Bloggers swap, and I highly recommend Chaotic Goddess Swaps for those of you that love getting surprises in the mail and making new friends!

Things have been busy since the summer began, and so this is why you haven’t seen as many posts on the blog recently. However, I expect to share some news soon regarding books to read, vlog possibilities, and branching out…

Happy Summer & Happy Reading!