Top Ten New-To-Me Authors Read in 2014

toptentuesday2

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their blog and join in the TOP TEN TUESDAY FUN!

Here’s what they have to say about Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where we provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in on it with their own top ten list. Feel free to have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! Just please link back to us if you are participating :)”

This week, we’re sharing the Top Ten New-To-Me Authors We Read in 2014! I read so many fantastic books this year, and there were quite a few new authors I had never encountered before. I’m excited to share the Top Ten with you. I’ve got YA, Middle Grade, and Adult authors to share!

YA Authors

Marissa Meyer

marissa

Cinder_hi-res

I read all of the Lunar Chronicles in 2014, and how I adored those books! I can’t wait for the release of Fairest and Winter in 2015! I’ll take fairy tale re-workings any day, especially in the world of YA.

Melina Marchetta

Melina-Marchetta-1e27vqi

6719736I read Finnikin of the Rock and Jellicoe Road both this year, and love Marchetta’s style! I’m really looking forward to reading the second and third books in her fantasy trilogy in 2015.

Leigh Bardugo

bardugo res

shadowThis year I read Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone and I’m hooked on the series! Love its unique fantasy premise and the beautiful world-building. Definitely an author I’m so glad I discovered.

Victoria Schwab

Schwab1-2

victoria-schwab-the-archivedI discovered The Archived this year, and I think I may snatch up everything Victoria Schwab has written! Love that book–a fantastic atmospheric read, just right for a rainy day.

Middle Grade Authors

Natalie Lloyd

Nat&Biscuit

snickerIf you recall my review of A Snicker of Magic, you will know that I LOVED  this book to pieces. In fact, I plan to develop language arts curriculum with it, and think it is the perfect book for upper middle grades. I hope to host Natalie on the blog at some point in 2015 for an interview!!

Tara Dairman

Tara Dairman headshot

allfourstars_final

It’s no surprise that Tara is on my list because All Four Stars was one of my great discoveries this year! I’m so excited about the future books Tara is going to write! Check out my interview with Tara if you missed it.

Katherine Rundellkatherine-rundell-410789881

rooftoppers-coverI had been waiting to read Rooftoppers all year and I finally read it when I was in London in September. It was as fabulous as everyone was saying it was, and I’m looking forward to reading Rundell’s other works.

Adult Authors

Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes

windfallenI discovered Jojo Moyes this year with Me Before You and Windfallen. I know there are LOADS more books of hers I need to read, and I already have several on my list for Christmas break! So excited that I have plenty to look forward to–love her style and characters.

Rachel Joyce

blog-rachel-joyce-1

harold fryeYou guys!! Rachel Joyce!! I can’t believe it wasn’t until 2014 that I read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye. I loved this book! I can’t wait to read Perfect and now there’s a companion novel to Harold Frye.

Anthony Doerr

Anthony_Doerr_by_Isabelle_Selby

all_the_lightAnd last, but not least, Anthony Doerr! This historical novel was absolutely wonderful! A rich and moving story written in poetic language that I was thinking about for many days after I finished the last page.

Were any of these authors on your Top Ten List for 2014? Are there any authors you think I must read in 2015??

I’ve got a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT for the blog coming up in a few days, so STAY TUNED!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors Read in 2014

What do you think? Tell me!

