Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait to Read! (Top Ten Tuesday)

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again with the Broke & Bookish!

This week, we’re sharing upcoming sequels we REALLY want to read!

As you may know, many books in the world of YA (and even Middle Grade) are series books. There might be two or three or four or even more books in one series. Take Inkheart, for example. Girl of Fire and Thorns. The list goes on. So when you start a novel, you may not be saying goodbye to its characters at the end. That can be a good thing.

But it can also be a bad thing.

It can be frustrating to wait for the sequel to a book you absolutely love.

frustration-gif

Seriously. A year is a long time to wait.

brave 2

I can relate to this with the first two books I share below. I’m DYING to get to these sequels by Marie Rutkoski and Danielle Paige.

And those are just the beginning….read on to find out what other sequels I’m most excited about reading!

winner's crime

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

(The Winner’s Curse #2)

The Winner’s Curse was one of my favorite reads of 2014, and probably my favorite high fantasy read of the year.

dorothy must die 2

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

(Dorothy Must Die #2)

Dorothy Must Die was one of my favorite debut reads of 2014!

shadow scale

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman (Seraphina #2)

I just got the first book, Seraphina, and am already excited about the sequel!

no cover

Winter by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #4)

I just finished Cress a few weeks ago and I CAN’T WAIT for this to be out. The world needs Winter now!!! Reworked fairy tales are some of my favorite kinds of stories and I adore the Lunar Chronicles. Can’t wait for this one. We’re in trouble though. This isn’t coming out until November 2015. What is to be done??!?

 This is almost too much, so I’m not going to think about it.

overwhelmed

 

fairest2Fairest by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles 3.5)

Of course I can’t wait for this one too, which is out sooner than Winter, so that’s a good thing.

blood and smoke

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

by Anne Blankman (Prisoner of Night and Fog #2)

The first book in this series was FABULOUS!! YA Historical fiction at its finest, in my opinion. This one is coming out soon so I will be jumping up and down when I get a hold of it.

starsofsummer

The Stars of Summer (All Four Stars #2)

by Tara Dairman

If you read my post about Tara’s book from The Midnight Garden’s Blog Tour, you will remember how much I loved All Four Stars #1! An ARC of this will be coming my way soon so I’m VERY EXCITED!

gif 5

And now for a few of the coverless sequels!

no cover

The Ninja Librarians #2

by Jennifer Swann Downey

Ok, so there isn’t even a GoodReads entry for a sequel for this middle grade fantasy, but there must be one soon!! I loved the first installment in what I expect is going to be a series, so we need #2!!! Time traveling Librarians who are ninjas. That’s all I need to say.

 no cover

The Time Traveler’s Wife #2 by Audrey Niffenegger

Somewhere out there, Niffenegger has said something about a follow up to TTTW in which we find out more about Henry and Clare’s daughter, Alba. I need this!! But I may not be getting it anytime soon because GoodReads doesn’t even have an entry and my only evidence was a segment of the book that was published in a special edition of TTTW.

no cover

The 5th Wave #3 (The 5th Wave Series)

This is coming out in August 2015. I just finished the second book in the series, but I really can’t wait to find out what happens to Cassie and her band of friends and whether they survive the alien invasion.

What sequels are you most looking forward to? Share your links as I want to know!

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their fabulous blog if you haven’t yet.

Here’s what they have to say about Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where we provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in on it with their own top ten list. Feel free to have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! Just please link back to us if you are participating :)”

**Thanks to What Sarah Read for reminding me how much I enjoy using gifs in my posts!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait to Read! (Top Ten Tuesday)

  1. The Time Traveler’s Wife sequel could be interesting. I liked Alba’s character in the first book. She was so underused in the movie, though; it was kind of disappointing.

    I’m not familiar with most of these series. I’ve only read Cinder. I put Scarlet on my list. I know most people have already read it, but it would be new to me!

    • Read Scarlet! I loved that one.

      I was pretty disappointed in the movie as a whole, and you are right–Alba was underused. I’m looking forward what happens with a sequel with that book. The first is one of my favorites!

What do you think? Tell me!

