Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Want to Re-Read

toptentuesday2

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—you can check out their blog here.

This week, it’s the Top Ten Books I Want to Re-Read! Some of these are favorites, and they’re books I will probably be re-reading until kingdom come. They are from a mixture of genres—children’s, young adult, and adult, so enjoy…

anne box set

1. Anne of Green Gables Series

Anne of Green Gables is one of my favorite books of all times, and I never get tired of L.M. Montgomery’s series about Anne Shirley. There’s always something new I take away with every reading. With the approach of fall, I think I might have to pick up with Anne of Windy Poplars right away though (the fourth in the series).

little house 4,203,200_

2. Little House on the Prairie Series

I have the yellow boxed set of these books and have been planning a re-read FOREVER! It’s time I sat down with Little House in the Big Woods and started.

the-time-travelers-wife image

3. The Time Traveler’s Wife

Another one of my favorites, and a well-loved fantasy I never get tired of.  Definitely easy to pick this as one of my top ten.

symmetry

4. Her Fearful Symmetry

I didn’t like this title as much as Time Traveler’s Wife, and there were very strong reactions to this one, but ever since I finished it, I have known I would need to read it again. There were points in the story I found myself asking: What just happened? Why did she do that? How can this be? In order to get some answers, perhaps a re-read is in order.

castle

5. I Capture the Castle

Another one of my favorites—the book and the film! I adore Dodie Smith’s style in this book. There are laugh aloud moments that no fan of Anne of Green Gables should miss. A classic that will always be on my favorites shelf and is such a fun one to read!

bridge

6. The Invisible Bridge

I love historical fiction, and I read a lot of it. This one, set during WWII, is so good! If you haven’t read it, please check it out! I haven’t re-read it since the first time I finished it, so it’s about time I enjoyed it again. Loved it.

Historiancover

7. The Historian

The suspense and intrigue in this one is fantastic. Some readers loved this, and other didn’t like it so much. I couldn’t put it down and ate the book up over several days. I especially enjoyed the geography covered in the book—it also might make you do a bit of research on Vlad the Impaler. But don’t take my word for it. Check it out.

hitty

8. Hitty, Her First Hundred Years

This was a favorite of mine as a young reader, and a book I’ve been longing to return to again. I have several paperback copies of this one, and it’s definitely a classic of children’s literature that earns a spot in my top ten re-reads.

mutual

9. Our Mutual Friend

I love Charles Dickens, and though there are other novels I’m equally in love with, I have been wanting to read this one again. I have a fond memory of reading this for a 19th century British lit. undergraduate course, and I remember our discussion was so enthralling and my reading of it was so enjoyable, I am definitely ready for a re-read.

woman in white

10. The Woman in White

I admit it. I’m a fan of Wilkie Collins’s sensationalist fiction. I first read The Woman in White while studying in London for the first time, and I remember not leaving my room in South Kensington for a few days. I accidentally stumbled up on the book at a bookstore on Charing Cross Road, picked it up, and have been thankful for this serendipitous book meeting that came my way one London afternoon. I also have the graphic novel of The Woman in White, and never get tired of the story.

Are any of these on your re-read list? How did you come up with your titles? How many of these do you think I’ll get to in the next three months??

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Want to Re-Read

  1. I would love to reread Little House on the Prairie series. I loved those books when I was younger and remember reading them with my mom. I haven’t read any of the other books on your list, but there are some that I would like to read!
    Great list!

  2. I just finished a re-reading of Anne of Green Gables. I actually listened to an audiobook with my kids. I knew there were a few passages I wouldn’t be able to read aloud to them (it’s hard to read aloud while crying). I was surprised by how much I related to Marilla this time around – loving a child fiercely, but needing to be the disciplinarian.
    The Woman in White is a fantastic choice! I love a good gothic novel b

    • It’s so interesting how the characters we relate to change as we grow and have different experiences. I love that! I can understand not being able to read certain passages without crying.

      I really want to read all of Wilkie Collins’s novels. I’ve read quite a few but still have more to tackle. 🙂

  3. I have a few childhood favorites I reread from time to time–The Secret Garden, Matilda, A Little Princess–but none of them made it on to my list. Anne is great to revisit, too. 🙂

  4. I Capture the Castle is one of my all-time favorites and one of the few books I reread regularly. It has one of the great first sentences of all time. It’s a book that always makes me want to write. I’d like to reread one or more Little House books too.

  5. Somehow I have never read Anne of Green Gables, despite being a Canadian who majored in children’s lit (only the first chapter was assigned for a course and I didn’t get around to the rest of it). But now that I’m in Japan, where Anne is very popular, and I want a wholesome fun read, I think I will give it a go! As for my own reread list, right now Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami is at the top but for children’s lit, I still enjoy rereading Artemis Fowl books after all these years.

    • It’s so interesting to me how popular Anne is in Japan. It would be interesting to research more about the whole “Anne culture” there. Kafka on the Shore looks really good–I have some quotes from that book I found on GoodReads that I love. I will have to get around to reading it at some point. Artemis Fowl is another series I haven’t ever gotten to, but I know it’s been very popular!

What do you think? Tell me!

