Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

It’s been awhile since I’ve participated in the fantastic Top Ten Tuesday, but summer is coming to an end, and things are slowing down…so here I am! I’m excited to share this week.

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their fabulous blog if you haven’t yet.

Here’s what they have to say about Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where we provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in on it with their own top ten list. Feel free to have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! Just please link back to us if you are participating :)”

toptentuesday2

This week, we’re sharing books that we want to read, but don’t own yet. If you know me, you know I have plenty of books I want to read, AND I OWN THEM. So this was difficult, because I already have many of the books for the upcoming year that I plan to read. However, there are always other books I want to read and don’t own yet, so I’m including the ones I really hope to find soon.

untitled

The Library of Unrequited Love by Sophie Divry

This is a translated novel and it’s not available in the U.S. yet, but I may look for a copy when I’m in London this fall.

Check out the GoodReads summary: “One morning a librarian finds a reader who has been locked in overnight.
She starts to talk to him, a one-way conversation that soon gathers pace as an outpouring of frustrations, observations and anguishes. Two things shine through: her shy, unrequited passion for a quiet researcher named Martin, and an ardent and absolute love of books.

A-Little-Something-Different_AB

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

This story sounds adorable–it’s about a potential romance between two college students, told from 14 different perspectives, including the perspective of a squirrel! Here’s what GoodReads has to say: “The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.”

Under the egg

Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

I’ve heard wonderful things about this unique middle grade novel with hints of mystery and history. It’s been reviewed on other blogs I read and appreciate, so I’m really looking forward to getting a copy of this one. My library doesn’t have it, so I’m going to have to find another way to acquire it.

18668056

The Glass Sentence

This is the first in the Mapmaker’s Trilogy and it came out earlier this summer. I’m fascinated by maps, and I’m surprised I haven’t secured a copy of this yet.

20140303_Astonish_Me_HB.indd

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead

Books with ballet have a special place on my shelf due to my own love of dancing and ballet. This one is said to feature beautiful prose and offers a unique perspective into the world of professional ballet, so I’m excited about it.

time travel

The Time Traveller’s Almanac by Ann & Jeff VanDerMeer

This massive collection of time travel stories was published earlier this year and looks fantastic!

Rooftoppers

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

I’ve wanted to read this award winning book from the UK for awhile, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Any story set in Paris is sure to intrigue me.

CastleBehindThorns-hc-c

The Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell

 I loved Haskell’s book, The Princess Curse, so I must read her newest story soon. I know it’s going to be good.

buttermilk

I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes by Jaclyn Moriarty

This book is hard to find in the US so it’s another title I might hunt down in England. The story sounds enchanting and with a unique title like this, I’m not surprised by how interesting it sounds from the reviews I’ve read on GoodReads.

why i read

Why I Read: The Serious Pleasure of Books by Wendy Lesser

And here’s a nonfiction pick–I’ve read a few reviews of this floating around, and since I adored Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading by Maureen Corrigan, I think I would really appreciate Lesser’s point of view.

Are any of these on your list? Have you read any of them? Which one should I grab first? Do tell!

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. This was a fun topic for Top Ten Tuesday. When I first started putting together a list, I thought there wouldn’t be much to put on it since I tend to buy the books I want to read pretty quickly after deciding I want to read them (or get them at the library). But it was all too easy to come up with 10 titles that I really want to read but haven’t bought yet. I actually found a very cheap used copy of the Jaclyn Moriarty (love her other books) but haven’t read it yet. I’m curious about the Wendy Lesser too. I enjoy books about books!

  2. I enjoyed your list, Katie 🙂 I own one: Rooftoppers. When I picked it off the Barnes shelf and read some, I instantly purchased it! I have yet to read it though *sigh*

    And excuse me, but now I kinda want a bed made of buttermilk pancakes 😉

What do you think? Tell me!

