BOUT OF BOOKS GOALS!

THE BOUT OF BOOKS CHALLENGE!

How many books will I read for Bout of Books 11, which begins at 12:01AM?  Can I get through all of them? Will I read more than I actually set out to read? And how did I decide which books to tackle for this wonderful end of the summer reading event?

Read on.

A quick review about the Bout of Books read-a-thon:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I’m planning to finish some books I started. These include:

In the Shadows by Kiersten White & Jim Di Bartolo (This is a mysterious and intriguing graphic novel—it reminds me of Wonderstruck with its textual narrative and visual narrative, which seem separate at first. However, I think the two stories will come together at the end.)

shadows

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas (I’m doing a Throne of Glass Read-a-thon at the moment and can’t believe I waited so long to read this series!)

blade

NOTE: I’ll be starting Throne of Glass as soon as I finish this, so expect to get TAB read by the end of Monday.

Full-TOG

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor (I started this as a read-along with two of my best friends, and I know it’s going to be a tear jerker, but I do want to finish.)

maybe

Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (Yes, this is a massive book but I’m dividing the number of pages I have left by days in the week. Really enjoying it, but it is the first in a massive series—The Wheel of Time.)

eye

If I get through these books, I have a few others that I’d like to read, and I’ll choose from this list:

The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer

The-Secret-Hum-of-a-Daisy

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The_Maze_Runner_cover

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

song

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein rose-under-fire-1

Which of these four do you think I should start first??

Goals Summary:

-Finish the 4 books I started

-Read at least 1 new book

-Visit 5 blogs a day

-Participate in at least two of the challenges (they’re always fun!)

 Are you participating in Bout of Books 11? What are your goals?

14 thoughts on “BOUT OF BOOKS GOALS!

  1. I heard great things about The Maze Runner. Can’t wait to start the Wheel of Time series myself, it’s like one of the most loved fantasy series of all time. I’m trying to read at least two books, we’ll see how it goes (: Good luck with your goals and happy reading!

    • Thanks, Celine! I’m excited to read The Maze Runner–I’ve seen some other bout of bookers that are going to read it as well. I’m also looking forward to getting more into The Wheel of Time series–so many people adore it!

  2. Of the four extra books on your list I would either pick This Song Will Save Your Life or Rose Under Fire. I absolutely loved TSWSYL, and I really, really want to read Rose Under Fire because I was so blown away by Code Name Verity. That probably didn’t help at all, so gook luck choosing! LOL 🙂

  3. Well, Katie, I’m thinking you should finish what you’ve started first. Of all these books, I’ve read THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE by Leila and thoroughly enjoyed it (love her writing and LOVED her book PAST PERFECT 🙂 ). She’s also very nice 🙂

    At the prompting of some raving reviews on Nerdy Book Club, I ended up purchasing the whole “Maze Runner” series (had a coupon so saved a LOT). I had taken THE SECRET HUM OF A DAISY

  4. …out from the library, began reading it and was really enjoying the writing style and where it was going, but I’m getting more and more selective about what I’m reading ’cause I will never get through my TBR. I think you’ll enjoy it though 🙂 Good luck with all this reading!

      • I’ve had the pleasure of spending some time with Leila at different events and she’s very nice 🙂 I’d read PAST PERFECT prior to having dinner with her and was so glad I loved her writing! I loved both books and was told by one of her authors that MOSTLY GOOD GIRLS is excellent, too. Right now PAST PERFECT is my favorite 🙂

  5. Ooooooo…..good luck! I don’t think I can binge anything, but binge reading definitely sounds like the most fun option. I look forward to hearing what you thought of the ones you read!

What do you think? Tell me!

