Top Ten Books Katie Has Read So Far in 2014

toptentuesday2

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their fabulous blog if you haven’t yet.

Here’s what they have to say about Top Ten Tuesday: “Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where we provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in on it with their own top ten list. Feel free to have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! Just please link back to us if you are participating :)”

This week, we’re looking at our top ten reads in 2014. Some of these might be books that were just published this year, but some may have been published earlier. I have met some fantastic books in 2014, and now let me share them with you! It’s hard to pick just ten, but I’m including children’s, young adult, adult, and nonfiction reads.

Top Ten Books Read So Far in 2014

snickerA Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd

One of my new favorite middle grade books of 2014! And perhaps for all time–read my review and you’ll see why.

winner-curse1-624x936The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

The first in a series, this fantasy was definitely one of my favorite read in 2014. I appreciate Rutkoski’s style and relished not knowing what was going to happen as this story unfolded…

18053060Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I waited and waited for this one to come out–and it did not disappoint! A twisted version of Oz–but one that will hopefully be saved…

Cinder_hi-resCinder & Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I’m a fan of the Lunar Chronicles now. The world of Cinder and Scarlet is fascinating–I’m currently reading Cress and can now see why everyone raves about this series.

victoria-schwab-the-archivedThe Archived by Victoria Schwab

I still have yet to read the sequel and I think I’m delaying it because I loved the first one so much. This is such a unique premise–check out my review and pick this one up!

11590645Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch

This is just my kind of nonfiction book, and I thought Sankovitch’s voice in this slim volume was perfect. I absolutely loved reading about her year of reading one book a day, as she worked through her grief at losing her sister to cancer. I know I will return to this book again!

9780062297709_p0_v5_s260x420

Windfallen by Jojo Moyes

I read Me Before You first, and then encountered Windfallen for my second Jojo Moyes book. I adored this one!! Looking forward to reading all of her other books.

We Were Liars by E Lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I JUST posted my review of this luminous mystery and was thinking about this story for days afterwards…

flora

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo

I LOVE the adventures and antics of Flora and Ulysses. This is heartwarming story that would be perfect as a read aloud!

allfourstars_final

All Four Stars by Tara Dairman

This foodie novel comes out in July, and it’s a treat not to be missed. Stay tuned for my stop on the Blog Tour hosted by The Midnight Garden!

5th wave

Bonus: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Aliens? The apocalypse? This was an engrossing story with an interesting take on the alien invasion premise. I am counting the days until the sequel is released…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Katie Has Read So Far in 2014

  1. I’ve only read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I haven’t heard of WIndfallen–I’ll need to check that one out. I’m also listening to We Were Liars on audiobook right now.

  2. OK FINE I will read The Archived. Sheesh people! 😉

    I really loved Flora & Ulysses as well, as you know. And should be reading The Winner’s Curse pretty soon here. I’ve been putting it off due to the original hype machine, but I think it is time!

  3. The Winner’s Curse is on my list too this week and has become one of my new favorites. Everyone is raving about We Were Liars, so I’m eager to get my hands on it. Wonderful list.
    My TTT

  4. I really liked A SNICKER OF MAGIC, too. It’s cute, hopeful, fun, but it also deals with some serious issues. That’s how I like my MG. Also, you can’t go wrong with The Lunar Chronicles — one of my favorite series! DOROTHY MUST DIE didn’t do it for me, though. I read about half of it, then gave up.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  5. Wasn’t this a fun topic? I am STILL waiting for my box to arrive with We Were Liars, so maybe I will pick up Snicker of Magic and start that. I just finished Jinx’s Magic this morning (loved the second in the trilogy even more than the first), and I am officially between books. I am discovering that I like fantasy more than I thought I did, so I will definitely find The Winner’s Curse.

What do you think? Tell me!

