Exploring The Mystery of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (2014)

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (2014)

Suggested age range: 13 and up (Delacorte Press, 240 pages)

Rating: 5/5 stars

Source: Personal Copy

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Realism, Mystery

We Were Liars by E Lockhart

The Book: Cadence is part of a privileged family: the Sinclairs. But like many families, this family harbors secrets. Summers find Cadence with her family on their private island off the coast of Massachusetts. There, she becomes part of the “liars,” a group including herself, her two cousins, and a grafted in “cousin,” Gat. They sneak out together, they get in trouble together, but when the summer ends, they each go their separate ways. Except for one summer. What secret is the family holding back from Cadence of that fateful summer, and what happened that she is desperately trying to remember?

Spirituality in We Were Liars: Topics like greed, racism, and dysfunctional family relationships in a story can certainly make room for spirituality. Without giving anything away, I will point out that the issue of materialism surfaces in the story—and one character’s response to this excessive greed is an interesting aspect of the narrative. Feel free to let me know in the comments your thoughts on these aspects of the story!

Who Should Read This Book: If you can read and you like a beautifully written story with a mystery at its heart, you need to sit down with The Liars. You owe it to yourself to visit this island off the coast of Massachusetts, and learn about the Sinclairs with all their flaws. Whether you like a good contemporary realistic novel or a thought-provoking mystery, I’m certain you’ll find something in this story to enjoy. This is the kind of book that kept me close to the page, tracing it for hints as to what really happened during “Summer 15” for the Liars.

The Final Word: Lockhart’s prose is clever, crisp, and beautiful. I hadn’t read anything by her before, but now I plan to change that. I appreciate her style, and I was glued to this story for several days. My only regret is that it had been longer. Now, I’m planning a re-read, especially since I want to return and scour the pages for clues. An unreliable narrator can really make a narrative more fascinating, and Lockhart expertly weaves a story that you will be thinking about long after you have closed the book.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Exploring The Mystery of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (2014)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books Katie Has Read So Far in 2014 | Spirit of Children's Literature

  2. I will be so interested to hear what you think on a re-read. I didn’t think all the pieces quite lined up for me, but I loved the tone and mood of the story, and the writing style was great. I love Lockhart in any case – you should definitely read Frankie Landau Banks!

  3. Agreed on her style–I enjoyed Frankie, as well, for the most part. There were a couple of things that didn’t make sense for me in the end, but I loved the idea that we couldn’t trust Cady, or anyone else. I did want to know why they were The Liars, though!

  4. Pingback: The Vanishing Season (2014) by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Spirit of Children's Literature

  5. Pingback: Uncovering the Secrets of Jellicoe Road (2006, Melina Marchetta) | Spirit of Children's Literature

  6. Pingback: The Half Life of Molly Pierce (2014) by Katrina Leo | Spirit of Children's Literature

  7. Pingback: Uncovering the Secrets of Jellicoe Road (2006, Melina Marchetta) - Bookish Illuminations

What do you think? Tell me!

