Top Ten Books That Will Be in Katie’s Beach Bag This Summer

Top Ten Tuesday

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their wonderful blog if you haven’t yet.

What are the top ten books I’ll have in my beach bag this summer? Many are new releases, some are titles I’ve had for awhile, but all are ones I hope to read while enjoying the warm summer months! In a few weeks I’ll be traveling with one of my best friends to the coast for two weeks so plan to pack some of these books and take them with me. The rest will be read throughout the summer months.

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield

afterworlds

I’m intrigued by the idea of a book within a book, and can’t wait for this one to be released!

The Glass Sentence (The Mapmakers Trilogy #1) by S.E. Grove

18668056

Maps? Boston, 1891? Explorations?!? I’m very excited about the release of this one!

group excited

The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

16068973

This looks to be another intriguing summer read–a “psychological mystery” that’s out on July 8th.

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

Rooftoppers

I’ve been wanting to read this for awhile, and it’s won several awards–very excited about this one!

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead

20140303_Astonish_Me_HB.indd

Any book with ballet in it is sure to interest me.

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxes

bonhoeffer

I’ve had this book for awhile, and I think it’s a wonderful choice to work on throughout the summer because it’s pretty hefty.

The Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell

CastleBehindThorns-hc-c

Because I loved The Princess Curse (recommended by Emily at Oh Magic Hour) and I must read her newest!

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

vanishing

Here’s how I felt when I discovered a new Jodi Lynn Anderson book was coming out:

avengers-jeremy-renner-is-excited-1

Need I say more?!?

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

file92862

Love the premise of this one!

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

61Q6Ch0NxML

I’ve read so many raving reviews of this one by Morgan Matson, so I’m going to add it to the beach bag!

I’m planning to read all ten of these this summer, and perhaps more! Even with a busy online teaching load, I can do it. To my own fears that I can’t get through the books I want to read:

john locke

Are any of these titles in your beach bag? What other books should I take along with me this summer?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Will Be in Katie’s Beach Bag This Summer

    • Oh, I can’t wait to read that one!! I have a copy on its way, so am really looking forward to starting it. I’m going to check out the review–thanks so much for posting it! 😀

  1. Kate, I’m wishing I had a beach bag. Well, I do, and chairs and an umbrella and stuff, but haven’t used them in quite a few years *sigh* BUT—I do own Rooftoppers 😀 and I’m loving the cover on The Glass Sentence! These clips are GREAT, btw. Where do you get them?! I want some! lol

  2. Since You’ve Been Gone and Attachments are both on my TBR list–I’m on the hold list for both at my library. Hopefully I’ll be moving to the top of the list for both of them soon!

  3. Ooh, I’ve been wondering about The Vanishing Season. I take it she’s good, then? 🙂 I’m so looking forward to Molly Pierce. And Afterworlds! I actually didn’t love Uglies, etc., but this one looks like a departure!

What do you think? Tell me!

