Favorite Middle Grade & Young Adult Titles Read This Year (so far): #ArmchairBEA, Day 5

Favorite Middle Grade & Young Adult Titles Read This Year

Questions from our Armchair BEA Hosts: Our final genre of discussion is one that we know is a popular one these days: books for the younger crowd, from middle grade to young adult. If you do not normally talk about this genre on your site, maybe you want to feature books that you remember impacting you during this stage in your life. If this is where you tend to gravitate, maybe you want to list your favorites, make recommendations based on genres, or feature some titles that you are excited to read coming later this year.

Spirit of Children’s Literature is the place to go for book talk about the spirituality picturebooks, middle grade, and young adult fiction! Today’s Armchair BEA topic is perfect: Middle Grade & Young Adult Literature! (dances around room)

Here are some favorite titles read so far this year. Some of them may have been published in 2014, but a few of them were published before 2014–I just didn’t get to read them until 2014!

Middle Grade

When Audrey Met Alice

 When Audrey Met Alice final cover

Hope is a Ferris Wheel

 hope

The Ninja Librarians

 ninja

A Snicker of Magic

 snicker

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

 ophelia-and-the-marvelous-boy.jpg?w=203&h=306

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

 flora

Young Adult

Cinder

 Cinder_hi-res

Scarlet

 Scarlet_final_USA-Today1

The Winner’s Curse

 winner-curse1-624x936

Dorothy Must Die

 18053060

No Place Like Oz (novella)

 NoPlaceLikeOz+Epub

We Were Liars

We Were Liars by E Lockhart

What are your favorite middle grade and young adult titles read so far this year?

8 thoughts on “Favorite Middle Grade & Young Adult Titles Read This Year (so far): #ArmchairBEA, Day 5

  1. Read Flora & Ulysses and OF COURSE, I loved it (as with all Kate’s work!), and have “Snicker” here waiting in line. I’ve heard of maybe half the others you listed. Also, though I don’t know if I’ll ever get to read them, the ones by Marissa Meyer. I met her during an author/s signing last year. I had gone ’cause it was local and wanted to see Leila Sales (know her through SCBWI). They were doing a Fierce Reads tour (http://www.hbook.com/calendar/fierce-reads-tour-marissa-meyer-leila-sales-s-bodeen-alexandra-coutts/). She’s very nice and personable, and did you know her first published novel started as a NaNoWriMo and she had been writing fanfic? Fun stuff to know 🙂

    • That’s fantastic that you made it to the Fierce Reads tour. I didn’t know that her first novel started out that way–that is a cool bit of info to know. I need to join SCBWI–have been meaning to for awhile now.. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the MG recs! I love YA, but I haven’t read much MG since I was younger. I have been looking at that Kate DiCamillo book recently though because I just loved her other books growing up. It’s definitely on my TR shelf!

  3. Lots of favorites on that list! Since we obviously have similar tastes, I’m adding some of the others to my TBR — thanks!

What do you think? Tell me!

