Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their wonderful blog if you haven’t yet.

These are ten book covers I find beautiful and compelling—I would frame them if I could, and one day I might! It may be the typography, the artwork, the concept, or the colors, but these are a handful of covers I chose to share for today’s Top Ten Tuesday.

 The Woman in White (the cover art is actually a painting in the Frick Gallery in New York City!

woman in white

 Anne of Green Gables (of course there are probably a hundred or more covers for this classic, but I especially love this one)

anne-of-green-gables-9781442490000_hr

 The Winner’s Curse

winner-curse1-624x936

 The Tiger Rising

tiger

 Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

ophelia-and-the-marvelous-boy.jpg?w=203&h=306

 The Most Beautiful Book in the World

most beautiful

 The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

edward-tulane

 The Invisible Bridge

9780141015095

 Beauty and the Beast

518lMMX-01L._SY300_

 The Emperor of Paris

images

Bonus Covers!

 The Night Bookmobile

cover1

 A Novel Bookstore

 51R8LT1k6sL

 

What are your most beautiful book covers??

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

  1. I really love the cover of Edward Tulane. Bagram Iboutilline is amazing! I have to say that the book covers I find most successful tend to be more graphic with less in the way of illustration. But I wasn’t really sure I’d frame, say, NW by Zadie Smith and hang it on the wall! I especially like the covers you feature with bookshelves!

    • That’s a good point about successful book covers vs. what you would end up framing! 🙂 I was at a conference in PA where Iboutilline and DiCamillo were, and I got them both to sign my book. I was so excited!

  2. I have The Winner’s Curse on my list too and am currently in the middle of it. It’s completely ruining me. That is a beautiful Anne of Green Gables cover.

  3. I’ve never seen that cover version of AOGG – it is beautiful. My current favourite book cover is The Crystal Mirror illustrated by Katie Green – it’s magical and I actually have my copy displayed face forward on the shelves of our welsh dresser! I’m sure you’ll agree when you receive your own copy shortly 😀

  4. Ooh, I’ve never seen that cover of Anne of Green Gables, and I love it! I’m not usually a fan of woodcut-style art because it’s so dark, but the light green background and old-fashioned style is so perfect for Anne.

    I hopped over from the KidLit event, enjoyed seeing your covers!

  5. I love the Anne of Green Gables cover you picked! It’s so easy to get most classics for free as ebooks that when I buy a physical copy, I always look for a beautiful one. I figure if I’m going to pay for a book I don’t need to pay for, I want to really love it 🙂

    • I loved The Thirteenth Tale! In fact, I included it for the reading list for an undergraduate literature course I taught some years back. It really is a gorgeous cover–and I do love compelling mysteries! 🙂

What do you think? Tell me!

