Top Six Books to Read If You Like Books Set in Hotels! #AtoZchallenge: “X” is for Xenodocheionology–Love of Hotels

Today’s word for the A to Z challenge is Xenodocheionology–a word we all use most days–“love of hotels.”

I do love hotels actually–in real life and in books. As a child, when my family was moving, we stayed in an Embassy Suites Hotel for about two weeks while housing was sought. I thought it was the best thing–I could go swimming, visit a gift shop daily, and eat a made to order breakfast every morning! I still find myself delighted whenever I have the chance to visit a hotel. A recent visit to a literary hotel (in truth, a B&B)  earlier this spring reminded me of the importance of “getting away.”

I recently read The Archived, which is set largely in a hotel. A hotel that may be haunted. Check out that book by Victoria Schwab if you enjoy a good YA mystery. There’s also a sequel.

What other books are set in hotels?

Another favorite of mine is E.M. Forster’s A Room with a View. I visited Florence, Italy for the first time last year–in March–and I couldn’t help but carry around my copy of the book as I saw the sights of the city. I wanted to feel like Lucy Honeychurch as she explored. However, in my case, I used the novel as my “baedecker.”

9780241951484

Those who enjoy Agatha Christie might think of At Bertram’s Hotel (Miss Marple, #11) . Then of course there’s The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins.  I love Collins’s work, especially The Woman in White and The Moonstone but I haven’t read his hotel story.

855164

There’s the contemporary novel, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. The Mystery at Lilac Inn, Nancy Drew #4 is another one we can’t forget, especially for those fans of Carolyn Keene and her female detective!

tumblr_m7p9sraNaZ1rrnekqo1_r2_1280

What books set in hotels do you recommend?

 

12 thoughts on “Top Six Books to Read If You Like Books Set in Hotels! #AtoZchallenge: “X” is for Xenodocheionology–Love of Hotels

  1. This is a great post. I feel like reading all those books now. I’ll have to tell this word to my mother because she definitely is a person who loves hotels more than the average person.

  2. I haven’t read “Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” but I’ve long loved the title. Other hotel books … One of the Lawrence Block Bernie Rhodenbarr books is set in a B&B/country hotel type of thing — “The Burglar in the Library.”

  3. My Tuesday Top Ten X was lists, so hotels most definitely count! (I was too stumped trying to think of a movie or tv show…. I mostly watch Buffy and Firefly on perpetual repeat and then sports. But I wasn’t very inspired by a list like “Top Ten Books for People Who Like Football.”) Anyway, I love learning new words, so thanks for your post! I also love hotels, but I have to say, I’m struggling to think of other books set there. Makes me think I should write one!

What do you think? Tell me!

