Kick Off for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon (Updated)

24 Hours of Reading Ahead!!

readathon-button-from-book-addict

Well, we’ll see if I can make it for the entire 24 hours but regardless, I’ll be reading a lot since I’ll be participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon. I’m excited about the books I’m planning to read. I may not get through my whole stack…or I may get through the whole stack and more!

Without further ado:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Northern California!
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Probably Prisoner of Night and Fog, which is second on my list to read. I just can’t wait to dig into this new historical novel set during World War II.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I’m going to whip up a batch of these extremely good wheat and refined sugar free chocolate chip cookies. I can make them in the food processor in about ten minutes.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I have been a reader since I was a child, and loved children’s literature/ya literature so much, I studied it for my master’s and PhD! I always feel so excited that I was able to study something so important in my life and am in the midst of teaching at the college level as well as researching young readers’ responses to literature.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? This is my first read-a-thon and I’m most looking forward to a day with reading and being able to set aside other tasks I might normally have to do on a Saturday. I’m also looking forward to connecting with the read-a-thon community!

Update for Hour 17

Currently reading: The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell

Books finished: Ruby Red, Prisoner of Night & Fog

Running total of pages read: 438

Running total of time spent reading: 6 hours

Snacks: Yerba Mate Chai Tea, Herbal Coffee, Dark Chocolate with Almonds, Black Bean Chips & Salsa

Update for Hour 23 (Final!)

Currently reading: Split Second

Books finished: Ruby Red, Prisoner of Night & Fog, The Princess Curse

Running total of pages read: 728

Running total of time spent reading: 9.4 hours

 

What do you think? Tell me!

