#AtoZchallenge: “U” is for Under the Egg (2014) by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

A new middle grade novel by a debut author that champions art, features a protagonist who must solve a mystery in New York City, and celebrates new friendships??? Under the Egg is on my list of books to be read this spring, and I am quite excited to introduce it for the “U” post in the A to Z Challenge! Historical fiction is one genre of children’s and young adult that I love and read a lot of, so when I read a review of this book pointing out that discussion of the Holocaust comes into the story, I was intrigued! I had already been keeping my eye on this book, so when I read about the Holocaust reference, I was even more interested. Also, I love The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, so I’m definitely going to give this middle grade book a chance. I intend to share my thoughts with you about it on the blog in the near future!

Under the egg

Here’s the GoodReads summary:

“From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut

When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather’s painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That’s great news for Theo, who’s struggling to hang onto her family’s two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather’s legacy of $463. There’s just one problem: Theo’s grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo’s search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city—and her grandfather—that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she’ll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.”

Here’a a review from Kirkus, where the recommended age range for the book is 9 and up.

Have you read this book or are you planning to read it?

What do you think? Tell me!

