#AtoZchallenge: “M” is for Madeleine L’Engle…Author of the Time Quintet

“M” is for Madeleine L’Engle, the famed author of A Wrinkle in Time (1962).

M 8-wrinkle-in-time-500x754

As a young reader, I fell in love with Meg and Charles Wallace and Calvin as they traveled through time and space to battle the evil brain, “It.” A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet were just as fascinating to me, and over the years, I have enjoyed getting acquainted with L’Engle’s other stories, like Many Waters and An Acceptable Time. If you enjoy fantasy with thought-provoking themes and spiritual dimensions, you must spend time with a cup of tea and one of Madeleine L’Engle’s books.

I enjoy the way L’Engle’s stories encourage readers to stretch their imaginations, and to consider a perspective of the world that is open to awe and wonder. Books that engage the child within us are to be read and re-read—and this is why I think L’Engle’s books are so important. For the young reader and the older reader.

Recently I have been dipping into a book that my best friend gave me several years ago. It is a nonfiction work by L’Engle called Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art, and is perfect for engaging the creative spirit. I find it especially inspiring and encouraging while I am spending much time recently working on several of my own creative works.

walking on water

Here are several quotes from Walking on Water:

“But unless we are creators we are not fully alive. What do I mean by creators? Not only artists, whose acts of creation are the obvious ones of working with paint of clay or words. Creativity is a way of living life, no matter our vocation or how we earn our living. Creativity is not limited to the arts, or having some kind of important career.”

“Faith is what makes life bearable, with all its tragedies and ambiguities and sudden, startling joys.”

“Stories are able to help us to become more whole, to become Named. And Naming is one of the impulses behind all art; to give a name to the cosmos, we see despite all the chaos.”

10 thoughts on “#AtoZchallenge: “M” is for Madeleine L’Engle…Author of the Time Quintet

  1. I’ve always liked Madeleine L’Engle’s novels, but I have to say I love her nonfiction writings, Walking on Water in particular but also her Crosswicks Journals: A Circle of Quiet, The Irrational Season, The Summer of the Great-Grandmother, and Two-Part Invention, which last is about her relationship with her husband. They are all beautiful, thoughtful, and thought-provoking, especially seeing how they’re intertwined with her fiction, too.

What do you think? Tell me!

