Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Most Original Books I’ve Read

So I’m a bit late with my Top Ten Tuesday this week, but I have a good excuse. I’ve been tied up writing a paper about time travel and spirituality in children’s and young adult literature. It’s going to be presented at a conference in Athens this Friday, though I won’t be there in person. So, here’s my Top Ten Tuesday, but better late than never!

These are ten fairly recently read books I found unique for my own reading journey. Each book reflected an aspect I thought was especially original. It might have been the point of view or the style of the prose or the actual content. It might have been the interaction of text and pictures (Wonderstruck) or the genre bending (The Map of Time). These are all wonderful books that stood out to me as especially unique and I enjoyed them immensely!

 the-time-travelers-wife image

The Time Traveler’s Wife

The notion of a genetic disorder that causes a person to time travel is fascinating–one of my favorite books!

her-fearful-symmetry-PB1

Her Fearful Symmetry

This story includes a ghost as a character, but it’s not your typical ghost. Another unique premise from Niffenegger…

n217173

The Book Thief

Narrated by Death, this historical novel was like nothing I had encountered before–a true gem!

thegirlwithglassfeetpicadorusapaperbackcover-thumb

The Girl with Glass Feet

A girl is turning into glass. Ali Shaw’s enchanting book is a must-read.

if-on-a-winters-night-a-traveller

If On a Winter’s Night a Traveler

Told in the 2nd person, I love how this story draws you in immediately. After all, you are standing in a bookstore at the beginning.

The Map of Time UK

The Map of Time

This is a genre bending book-first you think it’s realism, then fantasy, then realism again….so which is it??

zel

Zel

It’s the story of Rapunzel, but from the perspective of the witch and the prince!

victoria-schwab-the-archived

The Archived

I absolutely love the premise in this one! The “dead” are shelved in the “Archive” but it’s not really “dead people”–it’s their memories…truly fascinating!

9780062255655_custom-edf574a766e8d0912ecde8211555ca96c266ae1d-s6-c30

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

I didn’t know what to expect with this one, and as a fantasy, it was quite different than anything I had read before! Some might think it a bit strange, but I enjoyed it.

wonder struck

Wonderstruck

I love the way Selznick uses both word and image to tell the story–the book features two separate stories–one textual and one visual, but towards the end they merge.

What books in your reading journey have been the most unique??

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. I’d agree with “The Girl with the Glass Feet” and “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler” — both very cool and very strange books. Another is C.S. Lewis’ “Perelandra” — there’s really nothing else quite like the Space Trilogy, and that one in particular. And Chesterton’s “Manalive!” too.

      • My pleasure! “Perelandra” is also called “Voyage to Venus” in some editions.

        “Manalive!” is delightfully bizarre, as is “The Man who was Thursday” and “The Club of Queer Trades,” but my favourite Chesterton novel is “The Napoleon of Notting Hill,” which is a — I don’t know how to describe it. Think of a future where England has become a despotic monarchy largely run by its beaurocracy, and the king decides to force everyone to dress in fancy Ren-fair-esque garb when they come to him, and one person takes it seriously. It starts with an analysis of future prophecies of 1904 by people like Cecil Rhodes.

  2. Um, hi, my name is Emily and I’ll be adding all of these to my TBR. Such good summaries – it made me want to read them all!! But where to start! Wonderstruck, I think. And then Zel. And then Map of Time. And then If On A Winter’s Night a Traveler…

    • LOL. I can’t wait for you to read some of these and tell me what you think!! You would love Zel, I know!! Map of Time was amazing and I have the sequel but haven’t read it yet. Wonderstruck is…well..wonderful! I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like If On A Winter’s Night…. 😀

What do you think? Tell me!

