#AtoZChallenge: B is for Baking in Books

I love to bake! Cakes, cookies, pies, scones, pastries of all sorts, cinnamon rolls, donuts—I love to bake them all.

I especially enjoy reading books that feature baking in them, so my “B” post is the perfect opportunity to mention a few of those.

Bread and Jam for Frances is one of my favorite childhood picturebooks, and though there isn’t a lot of baking in the book, the food references warrant it a place in this post.

breadandjam

And how about The High Rise Glorious Skittle Skat Roarious Sky Pie Angel Food Cake by Nancy Willard?

c19855

A Tangle of Knots by Lisa Graff is a wonderful middle grade fantasy, complete with recipes! You can read my review of the book here.

knots

A few months ago I was part of a blogging event and for one of the activities I designed some dessert menus that I would serve to characters from some of my favorite books. You can check that out here.

All Four Stars is an upcoming release that I suspect will have its share of baking.

allfourstars_final

Then there’s Pie by Sarah Weeks, focused on the search for a world-famous pie crust recipe!

PIE22

Check out this Pinterest board on Cakes in Children’s Literature to see some picturebooks featuring cake and cake making!

What are your favorite books featuring baking and/or bakers?

7 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: B is for Baking in Books

  1. I’m posting about bookish topics for the A-Z Challenge–This is such a great idea for a “B” post! I love reading books about food and cooking almost as much as I love actually eating the food that I cook!
    Bread and Jam For Frances is one of my favorite children’s books–how can you not just love Frances???

    • I agree! That’s wonderful–I will definitely be visiting your blog!! 😀 I love this challenge because it’s going to introduce me to a lot of new blogs, I’m sure.

  2. Ah, Bread and Jam for Frances is a favorite! All the Frances books are great.

    Peeta, in The Hunger Games trilogy, springs to mind as a baker. 🙂 Another of my favorites is Rae, from Sunshine by Robin McKinley:
    http://www.robinmckinley.com/books/sunshine/

    The Hannah Swenson books by Joanne Fluke are fun. Like any light series they can get repetitive if you read too many in a row, but the characters are fun, and the recipes are great!
    http://www.joannefluke.com/hannah-swensen-series/

    • These are all good ones!! Thanks for the suggestions! I just bought my first Robin McKinley book, Pegasus, so will have to look at that one you mentioned. I really enjoy books with recipes, and maybe one day I’ll try to write one myself. 😀

      • I’ve been a huge McKinley fan for 20 years, at least. 🙂 Sunshine is pretty different from her other works. Most of her books are fairy tale type fantasies. Sunshine, and her newest book Shadows, are more parallel universe fantasies. They’re all good though. 🙂

What do you think? Tell me!

