Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Resolutions

toptentuesday2

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their wonderful blog if you haven’t yet.

This week we are sharing the top ten goals on our Bookish Bucket List. So here we go. With some of these I’m dreaming big! Why not? They’re bookish, after all…DSC_0123

  1. Own a house with built in bookshelves and its own library, preferably by the sea. Or maybe in the Scottish highlands. Ok, one by the coast and one in Scotland. One in Florence too.

  1. Open a bookstore/library/cafe/bakery hybrid.

I love to bake and I love coffee and I love books. So, that means I would love to have a space where all those things IMG_4444can happen together. I see a bookstore/library with a huge focus on children’s and YA literature, where patrons can check out books and/or buy them. I see groups meetings for book clubs and bookish activities! I see those researching readers and children’s literature visiting the shop in order to conduct their research. All while they are drinking coffee and eating a slice of my Blueberry-Cinnamon Coffeecake.

  1. Meet my blogger friends in person at some amazing conference.

I love all my blogger friends that I chat with on twitter and interact with on the blog, and hope to sit down and chat with them over coffee in person one day!

  1. Get a degree in Library Science and work in a library.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. I love books and I love young readers—what about a job that combines both of those things!

  1. Finish reading books I have owned forever but haven’t read.

I have too many books that I have owned for a long time, and mean to read, but just haven’t yet. There are classics and contemporary books. Children’s and young adult. Maybe if I go through and catalog my books, I might get myself in gear to do this??

  1. Finish revising and editing my upper middle grade fantasy novel.

I’m getting closer to this! I’m in the middle of receiving feedback from my writer’s group, so I’m on the right track…

  1. Finish writing my book about my spiritual journey and children’s literature.

I’m writing this right now, and enjoying the process. It’s just a matter of carving out time everyday and pressing through with getting the writing done. I’m going to do it!

  1. Return to Prince Edward Island and relive all my favoriIMG_3674te L.M. Montgomery books.

I adored P.E.I. the first time I went there and I want to return!!

  1. Write a cookbook that features recipes inspired by my favorite books.

Cooking and baking are some of my favorite activities, and I would love to develop recipes inspired by favorite books and characters. Maybe a cooking show would follow.

     10. Work on another research project like the one I did during my dissertation—I talked to 10 and 11 year old readers about two toy fantasy novels–it was fabulous! (hard work, but good.)

The advantage of working on a Ph.D. is you have time and space to do research with real readers. Now that I’m finished, I haven’t had that kind of time, so would like to get back to this.

I think I could go on, as I haven’t even mentioned authors I would want to meet…but there’s always space to discuss this later! What’s on your bookish bucket list??

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

  1. Oh my GOSH I am not even kidding. I almost put your #2 on my list but didn’t, but my friend and I even have like a whole concept/name/etc. planned out already. We want it to be kid’s books focused and have a party room where we can throw bookish themed parties and whatnot as well. We might be the same person? I’m starting to wonder. 😉

    PEI looks SO beautiful! I really want to go there sometime!

    • LOL. This is awesome! We need to definitely get together and consult should we each go forward with the plan….there could be some amazing connections here! I love the idea of bookish themed parties and definitely think those need to happen more.
      You must get to PEI! When I went, we drove from PA to Toronto and got a flight from there–it wasn’t bad, money wise! I was presenting a paper at the Lucy Maud Montgomery Institute so I was pretty lucky in that regards. I do want to plan a trip back in the next two years though…. 😀

    • That’s so encouraging knowing someone would be interested in the cookbook! 😀 I think it would be a lot of fun to create it…will have to start thinking more about this…

    • It would be amazing to be a school librarian. I taught middle school English for two years, and realized that working with the kids in the library would be even more cool. I will check out the Bookish Bucket List! Thanks!

What do you think? Tell me!

