Take Control of Your TBR Pile March 2014 Challenge

Take Control of Your TBR Pile 2014

It’s time to take control of books in my To Be Read Pile (TBR). So, I’m joining the Take Control of your TBR Pile challenge, hosted by Kimba, the Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This requires participants to read books from our TBR Pile that we just haven’t had a chance to get through. This doesn’t include ARCs, and it’s perfect for me right now, because that TBR pile is really stacking up. There are children’s books, young adult books, and books for adults as well.

For full details about this challenge, you can check out Caffeinated Book Reviewer’s write up HERE!

Here are the rules of the competition, as listed on the challenge’s post:

Rules

  • Link-up! This is open to everyone. If you do not have a blog then link your Facebook or Goodreads account.
  • Make a Goals/updates/Results post (can be combined)
  • Beginning March 1st, 2014 and ending March 31, 2014 at midnight read books from your TBR pile ALL books must have been published before March 2014.
  • Post a review to Goodreads, your blog or Facebook then link it to the Rafflecopter for an entry. (review only needs to be a short one)
  • You can combine events, challenges etc.
  • No novellas for this one peeps
  • The rafflecopter will allow you to enter up to two books daily, so update as soon as you finish a book.
  • Earn an extra entry for adding Take Control Button to your blog, or facebook (with link-back)
  • Use hashtag #TakeControlTBR
  • Rafflecopter will close on April 2, 2014 at midnight and a winner will be chosen. Open internationally as long as Book Depository or Barnes and Noble ship to you. Prize: New 2013 release. I will do pre-orders as well. (may request eBook copy)

I have a huge number of e-books, library books, and recently acquired books on my TBR list, and I’m going to tackle books from all three of these categories.

Here is the list of my March reads for the challenge (we’ll see how many I can get through)

Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Split Second by Kaisie West

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

One Came Home by Amy Timberlake

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Interested in joining this challenge?

4 thoughts on “Take Control of Your TBR Pile March 2014 Challenge

  1. I had to laugh when I saw the title of your post! I wasn’t aware of this challenge, but I think I need it too. I have a fairly large shelf just for TBRs, but it’s totally full and now spreading into a couple of bins and other nearby shelves. I have a habit of buying new books in hardcover that I must must must read RIGHT NOW, and then they sit around on the shelf until they’re out in paperback! You have a great list of books here–several titles I want to read too. I’ll look forward to your reviews!

    • It is funny, isn’t it! I’m the same as you-I keep getting these books right as they come out, and then they sit there for awhile. I’ll get better. I know I will. LOL. I’m hoping this challenge will be a great way for me to get some of these books read that have been sitting around for awhile. I’m also looking forward to writing the reviews. You definitely should join the challenge! 🙂

  2. I need to read Finnikin and Throne of Glass also – they are staring at me right now from my library pile! I just read Under the Never Sky and REALLY loved it. It was much better than I anticipated for whatever reason. I also enjoyed Code Name Verity, though it’s tough in parts (emotionally).

    • That’s so funny that you have Finnikin and Glass in front of you too. I have heard such great things about both books. I may start Under the Never Sky very soon because it’s due back to the library in the next week. I’ll have to prepare myself for Code Name Verity. You know, I actually started it a year ago and then had to return it to the library. I didn’t get very far–only a few chapters. Now I have my own copy so I’m looking forward to reading a good historical fiction book–it’s been awhile since I’ve had one of those. 🙂

What do you think? Tell me!

