The Spirituality of The Winner’s Curse (2014) by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (2014)

Suggested age range: 13 and up (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux, 355 pages)

Rating: 5/5 stars

Source: Personal Copy

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

winner-curse1-624x936

“ ‘You might not think of me as your friend,’ Kestrel told Arin, ‘but I think of you as mine’” (146).

The Book: Seventeen year old Kestrel should not have bought a slave at the auction, but she did. Arin is a Herrian slave, bent on revenge, and he has a plan. However, Kestrel, daughter of a famous Valorian general, connects with Arin, and little by little, they become friends. That friendship deepens into something else. Can they remain friends as turmoil and rebellion shake the city? What happens when a slave and a general’s daughter fall in love? Recommended for both young adult and adult readers, The Winner’s Curse pulls the reader into a fascinating world of romance, politics, and intrigue.

Spirituality in The Winner’s Curse: Freedom is something every human being has the right to possess. Yet, human slavery rips that freedom away. This story focalizes events partly through the perspective of one who is enslaved, and events are also focalized through one of the enslaving group. Though perhaps not for all readers, for some, the harsh reality of human slavery depicted in the story could motivate readers to consider how this evil should be stopped in our own world. As Rutkoski created her own world for the books, she researched the Greco-Roman period, when the Romans enslaved the Greeks.

Other spiritual aspects I thought about while reading this book included the issues of compassion and profound connection with others. Can a people that enslave other humans have hearts of compassion? This novel imagines a thought-provoking response to that question. The connectedness that develops between Kestrel and Arin is another area for discussion.

Finally, the references to the different gods and the issue of receiving favor from them made me think about how our concept of a Divine source can dictate how we perceive particular events in our lives and the lives of others. There is a certainly a spiritual culture in the story that I will be thinking about more, especially as the next two books in the trilogy are released.

A Connection I Made: Who knows what kind of connections pop up as we read books? As I was reading this one, I thought of my trip to Israel last August, when I climbed Masada to visit one of Herod’s palaces. It was also the site where around 960 Jews chose to die by their own hands, rather than be enslaved by the Romans who had finally breached the walls of the fortress (this was after the destruction of the Second Temple in 73 CE). This connection really got me thinking—how difficult a decision would that have been? To know the ruthlessness of the Romans, but to also want to live? This issue of surviving certainly comes up in Rutkoski’s novel, and I will be interested to know what you think of it!

The Final Word: I absolutely loved this book! I’m not sure what will happen in the next two, but I like that feeling of not knowing (or having only partial suspicions). I liked Kestrel’s spunk and courage. She doesn’t care what other people think. She dares to defy the cultural expectations of her world. I also liked the way that Rutkoski depicted the development of the relationship between Kestrel and Arin. It wasn’t unrealistic; Kestrel didn’t immediately start developing feelings for Arin. With less than a hundred pages to go, I had no idea how events were going to turn out. I liked this not knowing. I enjoy reading a story without a predicable ending. Granted, we know there is a going to be a sequel, so Rutkoski needed to leave some ends hanging, but I truly appreciated the thrill of turning those last few pages. I have a lot to say about this book, and look forward to conversations with other readers of the story!

18 thoughts on “The Spirituality of The Winner’s Curse (2014) by Marie Rutkoski

  1. I can’t wait to read this one! I hear great things about it, but I’m even more excited for it, knowing that it asks deeper questions about humanity, compassion, and connection.
    I also didn’t know about that history at Masada…what a terrible choice to have to make.
    Thanks for sharing this one!

  2. Wow, thanks for this review! I didn’t realize this book touched on topics like spirituality and slavery. I really don’t want to miss this one! And I learned something about history today, so that’s pretty awesome.

    • You should definitely read it! It’s interesting because I think the book definitely made me think about these spiritual ideas, but I don’t know if every reader will have the same experience. But, I think if these aspects are brought up, it would be really cool to see what others think! I love stories that really make me think like this one did…

  3. I stopped by your site after receiving a comment on my blog, and I love how analytical this review is! You make it sound like a book that will really make me think – now I am even more excited to read it. I’m glad you loved it, and I’m sure I’ll feel the same way. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you stopped by the blog! 🙂 I’m interested to see what you think of the story. I just can’t wait for the second book now. I’m listening to an audio version of one of the author’s other books now.

  4. Pingback: Hour 6 Mini Challenge: The Best of Your Reading Year | Spirit of Children's Literature

  5. Pingback: Favorite Middle Grade & Young Adult Titles Read This Year (so far): #ArmchairBEA, Day 5 | Spirit of Children's Literature

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Books Katie Has Read So Far in 2014 | Spirit of Children's Literature

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait to Read! (Top Ten Tuesday) | Spirit of Children's Literature

  8. Pingback: #TopTenTuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015 | Spirit of Children's Literature

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Sequels I Can't Wait to Read! (Top Ten Tuesday) - Bookish Illuminations

  10. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read in 2014 (Top Ten Tuesday) | Spirit of Children's Literature

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read in 2014 (Top Ten Tuesday) - Bookish Illuminations

What do you think? Tell me!

