It’s Monday! What are You Reading?? March 3rd, 2014

IMWAYR

This is a weekly meme–check out Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to find out more about this fantastic weekly sharing of books for younger readers. Thanks also to Sheila at Book Journeys for her meme, which includes books for adult readers.

Last week I read:

 malala

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

This was the book for our book club for the month of February, and it was a nonfiction pick, suggested by one of our members. Every month, one member brings 5 or 6 books to the table, and we all vote on which book gets in. This story was definitely inspiring and Malala, as some of you may have heard, is the girl from Pakistan who was shot by the Taliban and lived. She champions for education for every boy and girl in her country (and in the world). The book definitely will call the reader to action and compassion.

 time between us

Time Between Us

I love time travel and I love YA, so the combination of these two was perfect. I was a little scared to read at first—Anna lives in 1995 and Bennett lives in 2012, but somehow Bennett time travels to Anna’s world, and the two fall in love. However, the time separating them could be cause for concern. This was a thought-provoking fantasy that I whipped through. There’s a sequel, and I’m looking forward to reading and reviewing that. A review for Time Between Us will be on the blog soon!

 winner-curse1-624x936

The Winner’s Curse

 I felt like I was waiting forever for this book to come out! It’s finally here, and I just finished it. I won’t say much now, but my review will be posted on Tuesday. I loved every minute of this story (except for some of the heart-wrenching moments) and am definitely excited to see what lies in store for readers in the future books in the trilogy.

This week I am reading:

15726915

Faking Normal


This was another book I just couldn’t wait to read! I am really excited to read it this week, since I have read so many positive reviews of it.

113304

The Thief Lord

I am re-reading this along with my children’s literature students this week. I adore Cornelia Funke’s books, and this one is set in Venice–a perfect setting for a children’s fantasy!

Her-Dark-Curiosity

Her Dark Curiosity


If you read my review of The Madman’s Daughter, you will know that I was quite happy I waited until December to read that book, as it wasn’t long before the sequel came out. I’m planning to post my review of this one later in the week!

Books that I Will Pick up Now and Again over the next few weeks:

How to Be a Heroine: Or What I Learned from Reading Too Much by Samantha Ellis

The Lost Apostle by Rena Pederson

Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin (this one will take awhile)

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?? March 3rd, 2014

  1. The Thief Lord is one I plan to listen to on audio this semester. How are your Children’s Lit students enjoying it? I’ve added The Madman’s Daughter to my list–hoping the library has that one.

    • I’ll be getting their thoughts soon so will let you know. I listened to Funke’s Dragon Rider on audio and thought it was superb!! So I can imagine Thief Lord would be excellent for that as well. I hope you can get The Madman’s Daughter!

What do you think? Tell me!

