Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

Top Ten Books that Will Make You Cry

(or more specifically, Books that Made Me Cry)

They are all wonderful stories, so if aren’t familiar with them, check them out by clicking on the title.

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—take a look at their brilliant blog if you haven’t yet.

Allegiant_novel_cover

Allegiant (Divergent Series): by Veronica Roth: If you read the Divergent trilogy, then you know why the conclusion to the series made me cry. It made a lot of people cry. Some people wanted to throw the book across the room. But I do think the way Roth tied up the series was appropriate.

 the-time-travelers-wifeThe Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger: This book stayed with me for days. I was crying even after I finished the last page. This book is one of my favorites—in spite of its ability to pull tears from me, I continue to read it. It’s a beautiful love story!

The-Boy-in-the-Striped-PyjamasThe Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne: A Holocaust story that is Young Adult, but could also be shelved in Adult Fiction, Boyne’s story is heart rending and also refreshing in its perspective.

n217173The Book Thief by Markus Zusack: A World War II novel, you can’t help but cry at various moments in the story of Liesel Meminger’s journey as a book thief. You’ll laugh, but you’ll also cry. That is a guarantee.

indexThe House at Riverton: A Novel by Kate Morton: If you like stories set in a 1920s English country house and secrets, then read this novel by Kate Morton! Love, betrayals, and surprises—it’s all there. But definitely have a tissue box handy.

soldSold by Patricia McCormick: This amazing novel in verse exposes the reader to the horrors of human trafficking. This is an issue that is very much present in our culture, and hopefully the book will make readers aware and also drive them to do something. The injustice of what happens to the girl in this book will certainly bring readers to tears.

AnneGreenGables26Anne of Green Gables (Puffin Classics) by L.M. Montgomery: Those of us that love Anne Shirley all remember the death of a certain beloved character. The scene in the film makes us cry, but first, there is the scene in the book. No further comment necessary.

9780061992254_p0_v4_s260x420 The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate: This book is lovely. But there are certain parts that are so difficult to get through. A middle grade award-winning story, I recommend this to just about everyone.

edward-tulane The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo: This is another toy fantasy that I recommend to any and everyone. The story of a porcelain rabbit who slowly begins to open his heart to relationship with others is heartwarming, realistic, and also heartrending. Keep the tissue box out for this one.

the-mill-on-the-flossMiddlemarch (Penguin Classics) by George Eliot: Maggie and Philip. That’s all I need to say. The ending of this is hard to read, but it’s worth it. Who can resist a George Eliot novel?

There are many books with spiritual themes that are tear jerkers–what books have made you cry recently?? Do tell!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. Great list! I’ve read The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton but haven’t tried The House at Riverton. I will have to fix that! I haven’t read the Divergent series but my daughter read them all in a weekend. I don’ t think she could speak for at least 30 minutes after finishing the last one!

    • It’s so funny because The Forgotten Garden is the one Kate Morton book I haven’t read!! I have it on my shelf now and just need to get to it. I can imagine your daughter not speaking for 30 mins. It’s an intense read!

  2. The Time Travelers Wife killed me! After I finished reading it, I was crying so hard that my husband asked me if I was okay. As I tried to explain to him about the end of the book, I just ended up crying even harder and curled up in a ball on his lap.

    The Book Thief is probably my favorite book to date, and it had me bawling like a baby as well. I haven’t read Allegiant yet (in fact, I still need to read Insurgent), but I already know how it ends because some people don’t know how to keep spoilers to themselves. I’m trying to decide if it’s even worth finishing now that I know what’s going to happen.

    I haven’t read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas or The House at Riverton either, but they are both on my TBR, so I shall definitely have to check them out soon. Great list!!

    • I can completely understand your reaction to The Time Traveler’s Wife! I think that book may be the book that I was thinking about afterwards for longer than any other book. With The Book Thief, me too! I just couldn’t stop crying. It’s amazing what a story can do to you. You’ll have to let me know if you end up finishing the Divergent trilogy.
      I’m glad you liked the list! These are so much fun! 🙂

What do you think? Tell me!

