Bout of Books 9.0 (updated with Goals & Progress)

bout of booksIt’s my last week of break (sort of) before teaching really gets going, so what does that mean? That means I’m participating in the Bout of Books 9.0 and you can too! Here is the info about it, hosted by the Bout of Books blog. Anyone can sign up–you don’t have to be a blogger to do this.

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”

I have a huge stack of books acquired during the Christmas break, so this is the perfect opportunity to grab a cup of tea and read. This is also a fantastic way to build community with other bloggers and readers by talking about what we are reading, and sharing titles.

Do these titles that I chose reflect spiritual dimensions? We will see! All of these titles are YA reads, though I do have a substantial number of adult books I intend to tackle next week.

My goal is to read Four (4) books this week. That’s right–four! I will update my progress (below) throughout the week as I post reviews.

The books are:

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth LaBan

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

I have had some of these titles for awhile, and am excited about spending the rest of break reading and joining other Bout of Book-ers!

Monday:

Number of pages I’ve read today: 290 (The Madman’s Daughter)
Challenges Completed: 1
Books completed: 0

Total Number of Pages Read: 290

Tuesday:
Number of pages I’ve read today: 226
Challenges Completed: 1
Books completed: 1 (The Madman’s Daughter)

Total Number of Pages Read: 516

Wednesday:
Number of pages I’ve read today: 242
Challenges Completed: 0
Books completed: 0

Total Number of Pages Read: 758

Thursday:
Number of pages I’ve read today: 97
Challenges Completed: 1
Books completed: 1 (Not a Drop to Drink)

Total Number of Pages Read: 855

Friday:
Number of pages I’ve read today: 98
Challenges Completed: 1
Books completed: 0

I read about 16 more pages in Fangirl–which I had started before the challenge and may just finish this one today.

Total Number of Pages Read: 953

Saturday:
Number of pages I’ve read today: 177
Challenges Completed: 1
Books completed: 1 (The Tragedy Paper)

Total Number of Pages Read: 1,130

Sunday:
Number of pages I’ve read today:
Challenges Completed:
Books completed:

Total Number of Pages Read:

Total number of books I’ve read:

10 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0 (updated with Goals & Progress)

    • I feel the same sometimes–my TBR shelf is huge!! I had started the audio version of The Madman’s Daughter and then just had to get it when it came out in paperback and read the rest. So, I’m glad I’ll get to it this week.

      Am impressed with your goal for this week and your progress so far–that’s awesome!

      • Thank you! I’m a housewife so I’m lucky to get lots of time to read. I already told the hubby I am not doing anything but drinking coffee and reading this week! 😉

What do you think? Tell me!

