First Book of the Year: 2014

first book 2014

It’s New Year’s Day and that calls for a cup of a tea and a good book!

The First Book of the Year 2014 meme is hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey. What is your first read of 2014?

I have been waiting to begin a book that many reviewers have raved about: Fangirl (2013) by Rainbow Rowell. I have not read anything by Rainbow Rowell before and some of you may know that her book, Eleanor and Park, has also received amazing reviews.

This story is said to be “A coming-of-age tale of fanfiction, family, and first love.” I am definitely excited about this one! I can’t help but think of several high school girls I know who were sharing fanfiction at the school’s writing club where I taught. I wasn’t familiar with fanfiction until these girls introduced me to it, and it definitely is an interesting world! As a young person I was obsessed with Anne of Green Gables and the world of Avonlea. (Perhaps I still am). Why did I not think of writing Anne of Green Gables fanfiction? Perhaps I should try now? My answer to that may have to wait for another blog post.

Until then, Happy New Year and Happy Reading! I hope your first read of 2014 is as good as mine! [If you want a bookmark like the one in the picture, go check out the printable PDF at Epic Reads.

fangirl

14 thoughts on “First Book of the Year: 2014

  1. I hear this book is GREAT. I haven’t read it yet.

    What a beautiful display of the book….thanks for sharing.

    ENJOY your book. Beautiful blog.

    Happy New Year!!

    Stop by my blog from January 2 to January 11 for an international giveaway of Jubilee’s Journey.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My First Book of The Year

    • Thanks, Elizabeth! I’m really enjoying the book so far. I love the cover photo for your blog–it’s lovely. I also saw you are in Pittsburgh–I went to Penn State and really miss Pennsylvania! Thanks for the heads up about the giveaway.

  2. I don’t read much YA fiction but I know Fangirl has received a lot of attention both in store and with bloggers. Hope you enjoy it!

    I’d love to read some of your Anne of Green Gables fan fiction should you decide to pursue that! Happy New Year!

    • I am nearly finished with Fangirl and really enjoyed it.

      I will let you know about the Anne of Green Gables fan fiction–could be fun! Happy New Year and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

What do you think? Tell me!

