It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

IMWAYRits monday

This is a weekly meme–hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys and the children’s literature version is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers. Check out these links to learn more about this fantastic weekly sharing of books.

It’s Monday!  And 2013 is nearly over! But I am spending the last bit of 2013 reading some fantastic books. These are a mixture of children’s, YA, and adult books.

Last week I read:

Gone Girl
Gone-Girl-Gillian-Flynn

 This is an intense read, but a thrilling page turner portraying two complex people who happen to be married to one another. This book is perfect for discussion with others—get your book club to read it or a friend. Then, head to a coffeehouse and DISCUSS! A film is set to release in October 2014.

The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child
book whisperer

 This is a new favorite, and it’s the perfect book for any language arts or English teacher. If you are a teacher or work with kids and books, this will revolutionize the way you think about bringing young people and books together. Don’t miss this one. I think every elementary and middle school teacher should own this.

 And I finished Breadcrumbs

10637959

I started this book awhile back, and read almost the entire story. Then, I just stopped, with about four chapters left! The book just didn’t draw me in like some fantasy novels for children do. There are a plethora of cool references to other children’s classics in this story, but it just didn’t do it for me.

This week I am reading:

 The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns)
(finishing)

Crown-of-Embers-hc1I jumped right into the second book after finishing the first, and I’ll be ready with the third as soon as I finish this one. Rae Carson’s trilogy details a wonderful fantasy world with characters that you won’t forget.

 Reboot

13517455Reboot is an exciting dystopian novel that has a sequel coming out in 2014, called Rebel. I will be reviewing this on the blog this coming week. In this world, those who die and come back to life are considered “Reboots.” They are stronger than humans, but the longer you were dead before you were rebooted, the fewer emotions you express. Intriguing so far!

 Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell: A Novel
(finishing)

9780765356154_custom-eddbbcc684a8eaf3cd58cc965e1f9a31a97082df-s6-c30I started this one awhile ago too, and am really enjoying it. I think there is a part of me that doesn’t want it to end, and so I keep putting off finishing. But if you like British literature and fantasy–you should read this. It’s a lengthy tome of 846 pages, but it’s worth it!

 Fangirl
(to begin on January 1st!)

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012I have read many raving reviews of this book, and so am very excited to have this as my book to read on January 1st, 2014. I haven’t read anything by Rainbow Rowell before so am looking forward to this read.

Writing in Overdrive: Write Faster, Write Freely, Write Brilliantly

book-1-writing-in-overdrive-finalI started this last week and am definitely enjoying this kindle book for writers. I have already seen my own writing goals and habits changing as a result of what Denney says about the craft of writing. The book is encouraging and will challenge you as well–if you write or are aspiring to be published, definitely pick up this book, either in ebook format or in print!

Happy Reading & Happy New Year!

What books are you planning to read as we enter 2014?

What do you think? Tell me!

